Finding Meaning in Music

So, this is not going to be like a traditional article that would be put up here on this blog, but I felt like I needed to get a few things off my chest, so this was the way that I decided to do so.

As I was sitting in my room bored on Black Friday, I figured that I would download some music because my music repertoire was getting a little stale for me.  This made me think of some bands that I had not listened to very much previously, such as the hardcore band Vanna.  Now, I have seen them perform before, but I had never taken too much time out of my day to give them a thorough listen.  The first song that I remembered by them is called “Flower” and it is an absolutely beautiful song about not being the man that one is supposed to be and growing through a relationship with someone special.  Although this song is presumably about dating, I find that this song means a lot to me because I have that kind of relationship with my best friend.  Songs like this are songs that help me get through difficult days when I’m struggling to maintain my composure in the face of adversity, be it school or problems with loved ones.  I often use music as my escape from reality in a sense, and the lyrical content in many of the songs that I listen to has serious meaning to me, so if you ever see me posting a song in the Loyolacore Discussion Group or on my personal Facebook page, or if I ever just send it to you personally, know that it means a lot to me.

The other band that I have been listening to a lot today is Rise Against, whom I have dabbled with in my past but never gotten heavily into.  My best friend and I were listening to Rise Against in the car last night, and she was giving me a hard time because I didn’t even have one full album by them on my phone, so I decided to take the time to give them an honest listen.  I fell in love with so many of their songs because they’re all so meaningful.  Something about this band just made me feel better, and I can’t even explain why.  I feel like I have been really down over the last couple of weeks because I feel like I’m losing really good friends, but Tim Mcilrath’s lyrics are just so beautiful that they managed to get me out of my funk, at least temporarily.  I was absolutely astounded by songs such as “Hero of War” and “Kotov Syndrome”.  If anyone is ever feeling down in the dumps, I would highly advise trying to find some sort of meaning in lyrics.  It helps me tremendously, and I hope that maybe it is able to help other people also.

I know that this might not be the most interesting thing that you could spend your Friday evening reading, but if you made it this far, thank you for your time.

Leave a Reply

