Life and New Music

As many of you may know by now. I am not always the happiest of people, and that is my reason to use music as an escape from the reality in which I live.  More often than not, I’m down right depressed and I just put on a happy face and a smile to make people think that everything is okay.  Over the last week or so, nothing has seemed to really affect me in any particular way that it normally would have, until our lovely new Loyolacore President, Amber Loveshe, showed me an incredible album that I was shocked I had never heard.  I feel like I may be judged on the fact that I had never heard Youth by Citizen before, but for some reason or another, the lyrical content seems to just make me happy again, even though all of the lyrics are quite depressing.  It is almost as if my mind had been longing for me to be sad because I was so happy during the break from school, and this album was most definitely the best way to give me the feelings of what I need.  I’m not trying to be depressing with this post, I just enjoy being able to express my feelings in writing that I am therefore able to share with the group of people I feel might understand best.  I think that my favorite song off of the album is definitely “The Night I Drove Alone”.  The other two tracks that really speak to me are “Sleep” and “How Does it Feel?”.  If you haven’t heard of this band or this album, I highly recommend that you check them out.

On top of having discovered Citizen finally, I finally decided that it was time to get back into Make Them Suffer and give their Old Souls album another try.  So to preface this, I love Make Them Suffer, but I only really listened to their Lord of Woe e.p as well as Neverbloom, which is actually my personal favorite deathcore album.  Anyway, when I originally heard Old Souls I was thoroughly taken aback at the drastic changes that they had made with their sound, but after two years of the album being out, I am finally able to appreciate the sound that they had with that album.  If I had to suggest a song or two off of this album, I would have to recommend “Blood Moon” or “Let Me In”.  I believe that this album, although incredibly different from the album with which I fell in love, is beautifully done.  I think it is safe to say that those Australians definitely make better deathcore than most American bands.

Over the next few months, I will be listening for more music that I have never heard and for bands that may not be in the mainstream just yet.  If you’re interested in either of those things, keep an eye out for my posts because I am trying to get back into writing more for the club blog more regularly.  If you have any more bands or songs to suggest, I would greatly appreciate them! Thanks for reading this everyone.  I hope you’re all doing well.

Leave a comment